Sarah’s list of Homeschool Resources

Here’s to my first blog post in approximately 4 years! Most of my friend’s know me as a self-proclaimed research-aholic. Now, everyone will see some evidence of that below. Some day I will share our homeschool journey because I swore I would NEVER homeschool, only to begin homeschooling our 4 kids this year: 7th grade, 5th, 1st, and K4. Below you will find the resource information page that I made for ME. I tweaked it ever so slightly so some of it might make more sense, but I hope this is helpful to all of you who have NO CLUE where to begin. If you have any resources to add… PLEASE share them with me. I’d love to learn more and add it to my list. And if you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask.

A few weeks ago I did a live video on my personal Facebook page about a “day in the life” of what our homeschooling every day looks like. Every homeschool family does it differently, but I believe the way we do it with BJU Press curriculum, is helpful to those parents (moms especially) who don’t think they have what it takes to homeschool. We use BJU Press DLO (distance learning online). My kids log on, click on the subject, click on video and their teacher pops up with the lesson (10-30minutes), they do their assignment, and move on to the next subject. It was pretty easy for my kids to catch on. I grade their homework & answer any questions they have, but I love that I’m not teaching every subject to everyone.

If you DO decide to use BJU Press, don’t forget to use a consultant. Consultants are mom’s who have been using the curriculum for at least 3 years, can guide you to the best options for your children, and can help you get the best pricing. I saved over $1,000 by not ordering off the website and using a consultant. You are welcome to use someone you know, or call my sweet consultant Jennifer Leeds @ 816-785-4524. *Tell her I say hello!

Click here to see the video of a day in the life on my Facebook page.

(OUR personal plans)

Summer 2020
1. Typing.com
2. Online Piano & Guitar

2020-2021 Tentative Plan
1. Gabriel: Dual Credit at Home + BJU Algebra 1
2. Lucas: BJU-6
3. Lily: BJU – 2
3. Piper: BJU K4 or Reading Eggs
4. Spanish: Duolingo Classroom made for all the kids.
5. Music: Piano & Guitar
6. Sports: Gabriel – Soccer; Lucas/Lily – Gymnastics

Fort Worth/Benbrook Co-ops
1. West Fort Worth Homeschoolers: http://www.wfwh.us
2. Travis Academy of Fine Arts: https://tafa.org

3. Science Etc: http://www.scienceetc.com
4. WACHE: https://www.wacheweb.org
5. Legacy Homeschool Coop – http://www.legacyhsc.com

2019-2020 Colegio Shalom – Bosch Family
1. BJU $2,200/4 kids (discounts K4, 1, 5, & 7) , $200 science kit, $8/per journey forth book
a. Consultant Jennifer Leeds 816-785-4524
2. Dual Credit at Home?? (start w/first test for G) $99 or /$1,000
3. Preschool: Reading Eggs
4. Music:
*Hoffman http://www.hoffmanacademy.com or https://homeschoolpiano.com/
*Justinguitar (free guitar): http://www.justinguitar.com
5. Typing
6. Elementary Spanish (DuoLingo)
7. Chromebooks vs iPad: iPad is BEST because of ScreenTime parental controls.
8. Resources to use:
*https://www.edutaters.com
*https://hellobible.org/home
9. Soccer and gymnastics
10. Outschool.com Photography classes for Lu.

My OTHER favorites
1. Typing – Mavis Beacon
2. Spanish: https://schools.duolingo.com/7
3. Music:
* Hoffman Academy (PIANO): http://www.hoffmanacademy.com
* Justinguitar (free guitar): http://www.justinguitar.com
4. Gardening: https://www.thecurriculumchoice.com/the-homeschool-garden/
5. Thinking Tree Journals: http://www.Funschoolingbooks.com
6. Geography? Mapping the World by Heart grade 5-12: $53 https://www.homeschoolbuyersco-op.org/mappingtheworldbyheart/
7. Nutrition? http://growinghealthyhomes.com/curriculum/ ; https://kidscookrealfood.com/homeschool/
8. Character Bible
9. Faith: A Family Guide to the Biblical Holidays (All Ages) (Robin Sampson)
10. God / Finances:
* https://thekingdomcode.com/ ages 10-13
* https://www.moneymunchkids.com/ K-3
11. Character Building:
* https://wechoosevirtues.com/
* My Brother’s Keeper Bible Study: http://www.notconsumed.com
12. Fun: http://www.storytimechess.com

ONLINE/Streaming/Digital/Computer Based
1. BJU: K3-12 $1,000/kid/year http://www.bjupresshomeschool.com/content/about-distance-learning-online
2. Alpha Omega: http://www.aop.com/ Grades 3-12,
*Monarch – Family Subscription $700/year, Online, core subjects/all grades access
*Switched On Schoolhouse – Digital, more teacher hands on, 5 subjects for $413
*Academy – Ignatia Curriculum, k-12, $2,000/year/
d. Horizons (3+), but not online
3. Abeka: http://www.abeka.com/Homeschool K3-12. $826, $826, $1108
4. Veritas: http://www.veritaspress.com, some online classes
5. Englightium Academy: http://www.enlightiumacademy.com/
6. Logos Press http://www.logospressonline.com
7. Well Trained Mind: http://www.wtmacademy.com
8. Schole: http://www.scholeacademy.com
9. Liberty: http://www.liberty.edu/ms/online-academy
10. Wilson Hill: http://www.wilsonhillacademy.com
11. Memoria Press: http://www.memoriapressacademy.com
12. Freedom Project: http://www.freusa.org
13. Western Christian Academy: http://www.westernchristianacademy.com
14. EasyPeasy: http://www.allinonehome school.com/ Free, not as formal (under construction)
15. Time4Learning: http://www.time4learning.com Great for Travel, $64/month/4 kids (NO Bible)
16. IXL: http://www.ixl.com $319 for whole family
17. Kendall Hunt Publishing (gifted): http://www.k12.kendallhunt.com
18. Liberty U Academy: http://www.liberty.edu/onlineacademy/
19. Power Homeschool: http://www.powerhomeschool.org
20. Schoolhouse Teachers: http://www.schoolhouseteachers.com (50% off Ultimate: NEWYEAR19)
21. The Academy at Bright Ideas Press: http://www.academy.brightideaspress.com middle/high school.
22. HSLDA: http://www.academy.hslda.org/ High School

Book Based/Parent-Led Curriculum:
1. Sonlight: http://www.sonlight.com/ ($700/kid)
2. My Father’s World: CM/Classical/Unit, $500/year http://www.mfwbooks.com
3. Masterbooks: http://www.masterbooks.com
4. The Peaceful Press: http://www.thepeacefulpreschool.com
5. The Good & the Beautiful: http://www.jennyphillips.com/good-beautiful/ : inexpensive
6. Timberdoodle – http://www.timberdoodle.com
7. Allinonehomeschool: http://www.Allinonehomeschool.com (FREE)
8. Classical Conversations: http://www.classicalconversations.com
9. Memoria Press: http://www.memoriapress.com/ – classical
10. Well Trained Mind: Classical w/Latin, http://www.welltrainedmind.com
11. Ambleside: Charlotte Mason, free, parent led, no math/foreign lang
12. BiblioPlan: http://www.biblioplan.net Classical history
13. Christian Light: http://www.clp.org
14. Heart of Dakota: http://www.heartofdakota.com/
15. MiaAcademy: k-8 http://www.parents.miacademy.co
16. Rod & Staff (Titus 2)
17. Charlotte Mason
18. Lighthouse Christian Academy: http://www.lcaed.com/ ; http://www.aceministries.com
19. Robinson Curriculum: http://www.robinsoncurriculum.com
20. K12: http://www.k12.com
21. Thomas Jefferson (www.TJed.org ) Ages 13-19
22. Teach Faster http://www.mobymax.com – Teach faster
23. Reading and Math k5: https://www.k5learning.com/
24. Spelling: http://spellingclassroom.com/ $50/year
25. https://agentlefeast.com/ (Charlotte Mason)
26. https://simplycharlottemason.com/
27. ABCJesusLovesMe: http://www.abcjesuslovesme.com Preschool Curriculum

Christian Resources:
1. Teri Maxwell Resources:
2. Passport to Purity: https://shop.familylife.com/p-2998-a-pre-teen-purity-training-set.aspx
3. Business/entrepreneur: https://thekingdomcode.com/
4. The Kingdom Series: http://www.kingdomseries.com/ Grades 4-8
5. The Kingstone Collection: http://www.kingstone.co
6. Thinking Tree Journals: http://funschoolingbooks.com/
7. Character Coaching: https://wechoosevirtues.com/
8. Heart of Wisdom Blog http://www.Heartofwisdom.com (Biblical Holidays book)
9. Picture Smart Bible, http://picturesmartbible.com
10. My Little House: http://www.mylittlehouse.org/
11. God’s Generals for kids books: https://store.robertsliardon.org/category-s/116.htm
12. Genesis Curriculum: http://www.genesiscurriculum.com
13. Kids Read Truth: http://kidsreadtruth.com/
14. Sabbath Schooling https://www.theunlikelyhomeschool.com/2017/06/sabbath-schooling.html
15. Creation: http://www.creation.com
16. Character Reference Bible: http://www.characterreferencebible.com/
17. Child Training Bible: http://www.childtrainingbible.com/
18. Covenant Eyes: http://www.covenanteyes.com
19. Rock International: http://www.rockintl.org
20. Torch Lighters: http://www.torchlighters.co/
21. Zook Books: https://zookbooks.org/ Christian books
22. Christian Curriculum: https://compassclassroom.com – VIDEOS
23. Hubbard’s Cupboard: http://www.hubbardscupboard.org
24. Jonathan Park: https://www.jonathanpark.com/
25. They Call Me Blessed blog: http://www.theycallmeblessed.org/
26. Wisdom & Righteousness Blog: http://www.wisdomandrighteousness.com/an-easier-homeschool-day/
27. Heidi St John Blog: http://www.heidistjohn.com
28. Slugs & Bugs: http://www.slugsandbugs.com Music, CD or Digital, Cord Charts
29. Maven Truth: http://www.maventruth.com For youth
30. Beacon of Hope: http://www.beacononlinelearning.com
31. Dave Ramset Finances for youth
32. http://www.puppydogsandicecream.com Ancient Adventures books

Foreign Language / Spanish:
1. Duolingo FREE: https://schools.duolingo.com/
2. Spanish: http://www.spanish.academy.com
3. Spanish Reading for Kids: http://www.spanishreadingforkids.com
4. Fun Class: http://www.funclase.com Spanish, PreK through high school
5. Foreign Language: http://www.foreignlanguagesforkids.com/ Spanish
6. Rosetta Stone: (Family pack -3-, $300/2 years)
7. Mango $20/month/5 students
8. Berlitz: https://www.berlitz.com/
9. TalkBox: https://talkbox.mom/
10. Muzzy

Dual Credit
1. Dual Credit at Home: http://www.dualcreditathome.com
2. Modern States: http://www.modernstates.org Free Dual Credit?
3. Homeschooling for College Credit: http://www.homeschoolingforcollegecredit.com/
4. College Out of the Box: http://www.collegeoutofthebox.com

Literature:
1. Beautiful Feet Books: http://www.bfbooks.com/

Science:
1. Apologia for Science (Christian): http://www.apologiaonlineacademy.com/
2. FREE science: http://www.evavarga.net
3. Free science curriculum: https://mysteryscience.com/
4. MelScience: https://melscience.com/en/

Math:
1. Saxon Math: http://www.hmhco.com/programs/saxon-math
2. Math U See: https://mathusee.com/
3. Math Seeds: http://www.mathseeds.com/
4. Thinkwell: http://www.thinkwellhomeschool.com

History:
1. History lessons: https://schoolhistory.co.uk/
2. Notgrass History: https://history.notgrass.com/
3. Brimwood Press History: http://brimwoodpress.com/
4. Science etc.
5. Www.School.bighistoryproject.com – FREE history course
6. Tapestry of Grace: http://www.tapestryofgrace.com
7. US Constitution Course: http://www.theamericanview.com/store/products/2017-u-s-constitution-complete-course-hosting-kit

Music:
1. Hoffman Academy (PIANO): http://www.hoffmanacademy.com
2. Justinguitar (free guitar): http://www.justinguitar.com
3. Music: http://www.prodigiesmusic.com/
4. Homeschool Piano: https://homeschoolpiano.com/ $300/lifetime/6 people
5. E Media: http://www.emediamusic.com/
6. Kids Guitar Academy http://www.kidsguitaracademy.com/ $140 Lifetime (homeschool discount)
7. Singing Program: https://www.michaellandmusic.com/singingprogram-2/
8. Key’dnergarten: https://keyndergarten.com/ Montessori Piano
9. ONQ Piano: http://www.onqpiano.com

Hebrew/Israel:
1. Duolingo FREE: https://schools.duolingo.com/
2. Talk Box: https://talkbox.mom/product/hebrew-talkboxes/
3. One for Israel: http://www.oneforisrael.org (college. No Hebrew)
4. https://www.rockofisrael.org/ (Israel info)
5. http://www.rosettastone.com/learn-hebrew/Duolingo (Family pack -3-, $300/2 years)
6. Mango: https://mangolanguages.com/ $20/month/5 students
7. http://www.hebrewforhomeschoolers.com $77 (online, self paced)
8. http://www.twebrewschool.org (FREE)
9. http://www.readhebrewnow.com $50 for books
10. http://www.beingtaught.org/courses FREE
11. http://www.psalm78ministries.com/Hebrew.html Level 1 books: $60
12. Jewish Holiday Box: http://www.daysunited.com

Typing:
1. https://www.broderbund.com/education Mavis Beacon download $20
2. https://www.typingclub.com/ FREE
3. https://www.nitrotype.com/ FREE
4. https://www.typing.com/ FREE
5. https://typetastic.com/ FREE or HS Curriculum $59/year (edu.typetastic.com?
6. https://www.lwtears.com/ cheap
7. https://www.dancemattypin gguide.com/ FREE

Extras Resources:
1. Kids cook Real Food: https://kidscookrealfood.com/homeschool/
2. Grace & Grit: http://www.graceandgritbox.com For girls 3-6th grade
3. Gardening: https://www.thecurriculumchoice.com/the-homeschool-garden/
4. Preschool: http://www.thehomegrownpreschooler.com/
5. Minimalist Homeschooling: http://www.zaraphd.com/
5. Teaching Self Government: http://www.teachingselfgovernment.com
6. MockTrial: http://nationalhomeschoolmocktrialassociation.org/
7. Finances: https://www.moneymunchkids.com/
8. Debate Club: https://www.ncfca.org/
9. BrainPop: http://www.brainpop.com
10. The Crash Course: http://www.TheCrashCourse.com – high quality FREE videos
11. Growin Geers: https://growingeers.com/
12. Hoeden At Home: FacebookCo-op
13. https://homeschoolplanet.com/
14. Parenting: https://www.frictionlessfamilies.com/
15. Self Governance in the Family: https://teachingselfgovernment.com/store
16. Character Skills: https://celebratekids.com/
17. Usborne: http://www.usborne.com/
18. Simply Convivial Blog: http://www.simplyconvivial.com
19. Pam Barnhill HS Solution & Consistency bootcamp: http://www.pambarnhill.com
20. Geography: http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/Geography.htm
21. Geography: Mapping the World by heart: https://www.fablevisionlearning.com/
22. Kahn Academy – http://www.khanacademy.org
23. Educational Games: http://www.abcya.com
24. Royal Gifted and Talented: http://www.rfwp.com
25. Gifted Support Network: http://www.giftedsupportnetwork.org
26. HomeHacker: http://www.homehackercamp.com – computer science & roboticsh22n–
27. Easy Grammar: http://www.easygrammar.com
28. Janet Newberry: http://www.janetnewberry.com
29. Doctor Aviation: http://www.doctoraviation.com/
30. GenMindful (emotional tools)
31. MIT http://www.k12videos.mit.ed
32. The Great Course Plus: http://www.thegreatcourseplus.com 1000’s of videos
33. Step Up with Ann: http://www.stepupwithann.com grammar
34. World travel resources: https://cakeandeatit3.com/educational-websites-resources/
35. Teachers Pat teachers: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/ – resources from teachers
36. Education.com http://www.education.com/
37. Coding: https://code.org/
38. More programs: https://www.accreditedschoolsonline.org/k-12/online-home-schooling/
39. Test Prep & Skill Builder: https://www.testingmom.com/
40. Play Silly Street http://playsillystreet.com/
41. World School Academy: http://www.worldschoolacademy.com/ (Guate in May)
42. Reading Eggs: http://www.readingeggs.com – Reading
43. Less Clutter: http://www.kathilipp.com
44. Learning disabilities: http://www.wingstosoaronline.com
45. CiRCE: Classical Method help: http://www.circeinstitute.org
46. The Rabbit Room: community through music, story, & art. http://www.rabbitroom.com
47. Hifalutin Homeschooler: http://www.hifalutinhomeschooler.com – homeschooling humor & book
48. Mr. D highschool Math: http://www.mrdmath.com
49. Miracle Mountain Ranch: http://www.mmrm.org Family camp and highschool graduate discipleship
50. Homeschooling Today: http://homeschoolingtoday.com/
51. Computer Deals: http://www.greatcompdealsonline.com
52. Dyslexia: https://www.dyslexiagames.com/
53. National Geographic: https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/
54. Scholastic
55. Lakeshore Learning
56. MobyMax: Fix learning gaps
57. Art: artforkidshub.com (youtube)
58. Www.clever-dragons.com

Other Links:
1. Great Homeschool Convention: http://www.greathomeschoolconventions.com/
2. Texas HS Convention: https://thsc.org/events/texas-home-school-conventions/
3. Ultimate Home Checklist: http://www.passionatepennypincher.com/the-ultimate-home-checklist/
4. Books about Homeschooling: http://learninfreedom.org/recommended_books.html
5. What Kind of homeschooler are you quiz? http://eclectic-homeschool.com/what-kind-of-homeschooler-are-you/
6. Homeschool Philosophy: http://www.eclectic-homeschool.com/homeschool-philosophies-a-resource-list/
7. Books to get: Educating the Wholehearted Child, Teaching from Rest, Help, I’m Homeschooling – Helpful Habits.
8. HSLDA: (Home School Legal Defense Association): http://www.hslda.org
9. Homeschool Buyers Co-op: http://www.homeschoolbuyersco-op.org
a. BLOG: blog.homeschoolbuyersco-op.org/blog
b. HS Planners FREE: http://blog.homeschoolbuyersco-op.org/blog/freebie-friday-25-free-homeschool-planners
10. Homeschool Apparel: http://retro-outfitters.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s